Mad Men and romance writing

I’ve been super sick of late and unable to work or even write 😦 I love watching TV but never have time as I write at night. But being sick has been the perfect excuse to catch up on some telly viewing. I’ve just watched the first season of Mad Men and hope to watch another season before I get better πŸ˜‰

The series is great and has amazing characters. I’m just lovin’ the fashion and those gorgeous frocks!!

I also found the series to be an eye-opener. How attitudes have changed in 50 years. And it’s the same with romance writing. How different are romance books from now compared with the 1960s??!

Romance novels have definitely changed for the better, in my opinion. There is also now an array of sub-genres including erotic, paranormal, UF, sweet, historical and many more. And now the heroine is stronger and independent even in sweeter style books.

So are you a Mad Men fan?

And what changes have you seen in romances over the decades?

6 thoughts on “Mad Men and romance writing

  1. I, too, have only just started watching Mad Men, although I’ve just finished Season 2. I hope you get to watch it soon, because it’s awesome! As much as I enjoy it (for much the same reasons as you) I do find it kind of hard to watch at times though. The way various people are treated (the women and children, in particular) is just so awful, and sometimes I just can’t keep watching.

    I haven’t yet decided if Don Draper is a good guy or a bad guy — I’m thinking he’s both. I don’t think I would cast him as a romantic hero, though.

    • Ohhh – I’m so happy that you’re a MM fan too πŸ™‚ I agree – some of it is hard to watch but it’s also nice to see society has moved on and is a lot more accepting and tolerant.

      I think Donald Drapper is both a good and bad guy. He has characteristics that are definitely hero worthy but him being unfaithful to his wife is a really stinger! He’d would definitely not make it into one of our books πŸ˜‰

  2. I came to the show late, and am still catching up, but I like it very much. Draper is definitely an interesting guy – a disintegrating personality in the episodes I’ve viewed thus far.

    Now tell me you are a fan of ‘Downton Abbey,’ and I suspect we shall be friends for life! πŸ™‚

    • LOL Kate – I like the sound of you very much πŸ™‚ Unfortunately, I just don’t have the time to watch Downtown Abbey. I wish I did, it looks like a fab show.

      Back to Mad Men – I think the writing is really good and the characters so interesting. I can’t wait to see Season 7 πŸ™‚

      • I think it is to be the final season of the show – or so I read somewhere along the line.

        I know what you mean regarding TV shows; I’ve only just begun watching Downton Abbey this past year and am a season behind. I rarely turn on the TV because of lack of time. I’m usually trying to get my word count in instead! πŸ™‚

  3. Right with you Kate. As much as I love watching TV … good shows only πŸ˜‰ books don’t write themselves!!!

    Season 7 of Mad Men hasn’t started here yet in Australia 😦 I recently flew to Hong Kong and spent the entire flight there and back watching Season 6 πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

